Plenary Speakers

Liqun Zhang (Beijing University of Chemical Technology)

Liqun Zhang is a professor at Beijing University of Chemical Technology. His research interests focus on rubber science and technology, polymer nanocomposites, bio-based polymeric materials and so on. He has received various awards such as the National Outstanding Youth, the Changjiang Scholar Professor of Ministry of Education of China, the Sparks-Thomas Sci-Tech Award by the Rubber Division of American Chemical Society, the Science of Chemical Engineering of Japan (SCEJ) Research Award, the Morand Lambla Award of International Polymer Processing Society. He has published over 600 peer-reviewed papers, (co-)authors of 8 books (chapters) and has given over 60 plenary/keynote/invited lectures in international conferences. 

Cyrille Boyer (The University of New South Wales)

Cyrille Boyer received his Ph.D. from the University of Montpellier II in 2006. At the end of 2006 he joined the Centre for Advanced Macromolecular Design (CAMD) as a senior research fellow, and in 2017 he was promoted to full Professor. Cyrille received the 2015 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year as a recognition to his contribution to polymer science, nanotechnology and nanomedicine. His current research interests mainly cover a range of new polymerization approaches and the synthesis of “SMART” polymeric nanoparticles and polymer composites for various applications, such as drug delivery, imaging and hydrogen storage. 

Amanda Ellis (The University of Melbourne)

Prof. Amanda Ellis obtained a Ph.D (Applied Chemistry) from the University of Technology, Sydney in 2003. She worked at Flinders University becoming a Full Professor in 2012 and then became acting Associate Dean of Research for the Faculty of Science and Engineering. In May 2017 she joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Melbourne. Prof. Ellis' research is focused on novel polymer coatings, functionalised carbon nanotubes and graphene and their polymer composites, microfluidics, genotyping and DNA nanotechnology. Her primary interest is doing fundamental science for translation into industry. She has over 140 peer-reviewed publication and 6 Full patents. She has secured over $20 M in funding from the ARC and non-ARC sources on projects. Currently, she is an ARC Future Fellow, Board Member of the Royal Australia Chemical Institute (RACI) & Fellow of the RACI and the President of the Membrane Society of Australasia (MSA). 

Andrew Chan (University of Tasmania)

Professor Andrew Chan is currently the Head of the School of Engineering at University of Tasmania. He has a wide research interest especially in the numerical modelling of non-linear material and constitutive modelling. He is one of the world leading experts in the use of the finite element method (FEM) of static and dynamic fully coupled soil and pore-fluid interaction. His recent interest, besides the use of Scaled Boundary FEM and discrete element method for the modelling of particle breakage, includes simulating the breakage of glass under hard body impact using the combined finite-discrete element method and Modelling dynamic saturated soil and pore fluid interaction such as fluidisation using combined discrete element method and Lattice Boltzmann method. He is subject editor for the Journal of Applied Mathematical Modelling and on the editorial board of Computers and Structures as well as a member of the ARC College of Experts. 

Adrian Mouritz (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, RMIT University)

Adrian performs research into fibre reinforced polymer composites and other engineering materials used in aircraft. Professor Mouritz has performed research which has led to significant discoveries on various topics associated with composite materials, including their mechanical, fracture and fatigue properties; impact and explosive blast properties; fire structural properties; non-destructive inspection and smart health monitoring; and damage tolerance using through-thickness reinforcement (orthogonal weaving, stitching, pinning). He has published nearly 200 research articles on composites; which include 3 books, 3 edited books, 15 book chapters, and over 120 journal papers.

Professor Mouritz has received over $5 million in research funds over the past 10 years from various sources, including the Australian Research Council, United States Office of Naval Research and the Composites CRC.

Jinsong Leng (Harbin Institute of Technology)

Prof. Jinsong Leng is Cheung Kong Chair Professor and Director of the Center for Smart Materials and Structures at Harbin Institute of Technology (China). He has also been recognized as Research Giant of University of Southern Queensland (Australia) and served as Honorary Professor of Kingston University London (UK). His researches cover Sensors and Actuators, Stimulus Responsive Polymers (Shape Memory and Electro-Active Polymers) and their composites, Multifunctional Nanocomposites, Active Vibration Control, Structural Health Monitoring, and Active Deployable or Morphing Structures. Prof. Leng has authored or co-authored more than 300 scientific papers, 10books/chapters and 50 issued patents and delivered more than 20 Plenary/Keynote talks at international conferences. Prof. Leng has been served as the Vice President of International Committee on Composite Materials (ICCM), Vice President of Chinese Society for Composite Materials (CSCM), Chairman of Asia-pacific Committee on Smart and Nano Materials (APCSNM), and Editor in Chief of International Journal of Smart and Nano Materials. He has also been elected as the World Fellow and an Executive Council Member of ICCM, Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, Fellow of the SPIE, Fellow of Institute of Physics (IOP), Fellow of Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS), Fellow of Institute of Materials, Minerals, and Mining (IMMM) and Associate Fellowo f AIAA.

Kindly supported by